The Southern African Development Community Cooperation in Accreditation (SADCA) is a Cooperation of accreditation bodies in the Southern African Development Community (SADC) region. SADCA is a Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT) Cooperation Structure established under the TBT Annex to the SADC Protocol on Trade.

SADCA’s aims are to:

  • Develop and maintain mutual confidence amongst Accreditation Bodies in the SADC region and internationally;
  • Achieve and maintain uniformity of accreditation activities in the SADC region and internationally;
  • Promote and facilitate the use of accreditation as a tool for national governments in the removal of technical barriers to trade and protection of health, safety and the environment in both the voluntary and regulatory areas;
  • Promote consistent application of accreditation standards and facilitate their implementation;
  • Ensure the provision of regional accreditation cooperation services which are independent, impartial, transparent, non-discriminatory and achieve and maintain a high level of integrity and confidentiality whilst ensuring ethical operations;
  • Facilitate access to current databases of recognised Accreditation Bodies within the region and internationally.

The following countries are currently SADC Member States, and have Country Representatives that participate in SADCA’s activities:

Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Republic of South Africa, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Southern Africa Map

News Archive